#040 The Prince Of Wales

Standard

Adam

I have an adjusted schedule. My current job working on a radio breakfast show means I get up around four in the morning and I cope by pretending it’s constantly four hours ahead.

So if you read this at two in the afternoon, I’m sitting down to tea at six. If you read at six I’m watching my equivalent of late evening telly at ten. If you invite me out for a drink at ten I’m angry that you called me at two in the morning.

photo 1 (4)

Consequently mid-week drinking for me is always a mission, but hell, I’m a trooper for this blog and so earlier this week I joined up with Mike and Rich at The Prince of Wales on Gloucester Road.

Hats off to the façade for starters, I can think of few places that are quite as colourful or brilliantly committed. Also see that the whale has a crown? We do love a pun.

On this occasion we trudged into the bar sopping wet from the rain only to find both Mike and Rich had worn the exact same portal T-shirt which tells you a lot about us a unit really.

photo 5 (3)

So we plonked ourselves down to enjoy a few too many pints and chat about how our weeks were going. Mike had a new job, Rich had bought items for his winter wardrobe on the cheap now ‘summer’ had started and I’d come up with a managerial analogy involving Ash Ketchum and Charizard.

The bar itself was a great mid-week shout actually. Nice and comfy inside from the rain the more or less traditional pub atmosphere offered a good selection on tap and some crazy delicious chips and burgers for under a tenner.

They go for a ‘something for everyone’ feel which I’d say was a success, you can also bring dogs in which always feels friendly. My only real regret was that we missed the Monday night quiz that had been on the day before and was still being advertised by a flyer on our table. Nice to see stuff was on mind.

photo 2 (7)

It might sound pretty standard so far, but The Prince of Wales has a bit of a unique feel which is very in keeping with it’s location ‘twixt the Gloucester Road and Stokes Croft.

The fantastic under the sea decorations across the front door is your first clue and the theme continues throughout. There’s a mini-library, more colourful wall art out in the nicely sized beer garden and quite a few fun quotes hidden on some of the walls.

One of our favourites was by the table we sat on reading:

‘Wine Equals Win With An Extra E’

photo 4 (4)

So we had a good few hours enjoying the food, the drink, and our usually array of random pub chat and I’d look forward to stopping off there again next time we head to more of our 100 bars up in that end of town.

The three of us then headed off nice and early since it was a work night. Well… nice and early for most. For my adjusted schedule it was just gone one in the morning. Not that I go on about it…

The Prince of Wales (5 Gloucester Road, Bishopston, BS7 8AA) is open every day of the week 12pm until 12am.

http://www.powbristol.co.uk

Leave a comment